Extra Privacy: The "Unlisted" Privacy Level
Although the most sensitive information on a Private profile can only be seen by the Trusted List, their names will appear in our surname index, search results, and automatic matches. This way distant relatives can find the profile and request to join the Trusted List.
There is a Privacy Level that is more private than Private. It's called Unlisted.
Children under 13 are Unlisted by default, and it's an option for any living person who is uncomfortable seeing their name on the Internet.
Even More Privacy: Anonymization
If Unlisted is not an option or if you prefer, you can choose not to enter first names or dates for living people. Include the Last Name at Birth and nothing else. See the page on Anonymization for more information.
If you're not totally anonymizing a profile with a message in the text of the page, be sure to check the "intentionally blank" option next to any fields that you do want kept blank. That way others in the Trusted List will know not to add the information.
This may limit your family's enjoyment of some features, but you can always add information later if you become more comfortable with our privacy system.
This page was last modified 12:04, 19 January 2015. This page has been accessed 5,347 times.