Privacy

Categories: WikiTree Help

WikiTree's unique system is optimized for privacy with flexibility for collaboration.

Every single profile on WikiTree has an independently-managed Privacy Level and Trusted List. If you're on the profile's Trusted List you can access everything. If you're not on the Trusted List, what you can see and do depends on the Privacy Level.

The Profile Manager can change the Privacy Level by clicking the Privacy tab on a profile or change the Privacy Level on multiple profiles at the same time.

Here are the six Privacy Levels.

Contents

unlisted.png Unlisted

This is for profiles that you want to keep entirely hidden from everyone but the Trusted List. Unlisted names do not appear in search results, surname index pages, or automatic matches.

Unlisted is the default setting when you add a child under 13. Please note that regardless of the Privacy Level, profiles of young children should only be used for placeholders and should not include Personally Identifiable Information.

Unlisted is not an option for non-living people or anyone born more than 100 years ago.

It is also not an option for profiles of active members. Wiki Genealogists cannot keep their own profile Unlisted. If you, as an active WikiTree member, do not want your name to appear anywhere click here.

private.png Private

The public can still see certain limited information on a Private profile. Like being listed in a phone book, this enables others to find it.

When editing a profile you can tell at a glance whether a particular piece of information is private with the following colored icons.

dot20.gif Private information

Red icons mean the information can only be viewed by the Trusted List.

This includes Gender, Formal First Name, Nicknames, and family relationships such as Spouses, Siblings, and Children, as well as the Personal Memories section.

The Biography (body of the page) and Parents (family tree) are private by default but can be changed to be public.

dot50.gif Public information

Green icons denote public information.

This includes the basic First Name and Last Names, the name Prefix and Suffix, and Public Comments.

dot30.gif Partially private information

Yellow icons mean that the most sensitive aspect of something is protected but a limited version is made available.

Specifically:

Middle Name: The full middle name is private, but the middle initial is public.

Birth Date and Death Date: The exact month, day, and year are private, but the decade is public, e.g. "1970s". We do this so that people can figure out whether someone is related to them.

Photos: The tiny thumbnail of a photo is always unrestricted — but the full version and information about images is private. Note, however, that if someone in a photo is public the whole image will be public.

Activity: The items recorded in activity feeds are viewable by anyone but they can only see the line item itself, not the details. (For example, "Thomas Jefferson edited the biography of Ben Franklin", but not the actual biography or what was edited.)

public-bio.png Private with Public Biography

Exactly like Private profiles, with all the protections outlined above, except that the Biography (body of the page) is public. It can still only be edited by the Trusted List.

public-tree.png Private with Public Biography and Family Tree

Exactly like the above, but the person's family tree and DNA test connections are also public.

public.png Public

Anyone can view the information on a Public profile. However, even though anyone can view a Public profile you still need to be in the Trusted List to add or change information.

Public is not an option for living people.

open.png Open

Anyone can view the information on an Open profile, and any WikiTree member in good standing with a confirmed e-mail address who has signed the Wiki Genealogist Honor Code can edit it. It's like on Wikipedia. All edits are tracked, credited to the appropriate member, and can be changed.

Any profile of a deceased person without any sensitive information in it should be Open.

Profiles of people over 200 years old must be Open. Open is not an option for living people.

WikiTree Leaders can merge any two Open profiles. The mission of the WikiTree community is to connect modern families with ancestors on a single worldwide family tree. Merging duplicates is an important part of this.




To easily change the Privacy Level on multiple profiles at once, use this Bulk Privacy Changes tool.

It's important to understand that WikiTree's privacy controls are about privacy, not control. All descendants have to share the same ancestor profiles. See the page on ownership and control.

For the legal details of our privacy policy, click here.


This page was last modified 10:11, 1 April 2014. This page has been accessed 160,943 times.