Trusted List

Categories: WikiTree Help

What is a Trusted List?

WikiTree's privacy system is based on what we call "Trusted Lists".

Every single profile has its own Trusted List and each one is independent. If you're on the Trusted List for one person profile, it doesn't mean you're on the Trusted Lists for that person's relatives.

The members of a profile's Trusted List have full viewing and editing rights. What users outside the Trusted List can see and do depends on the Privacy Level.

This might sound complicated at first, but it's what makes collaboration on a single, shared family tree possible without compromising privacy.

Adding and removing from Trusted Lists

Trusted Lists are managed by the users already on the Trusted List, led by the Profile Manager.

To view or modify a profile's Trusted List, click the Privacy tab.

You can request to be added to a Trusted List by clicking the request link on the profile. The Profile Manager will be e-mailed. If they approve you they'll be given the opportunity to add you to the Trusted Lists of related profiles at the same time.

There's a handy Bulk Trusted List Changes tool for adding or removing someone from multiple Trusted Lists at the same time.

Trusted Lists are about privacy, not control

It's important to keep in mind that Trusted Lists are a tool for privacy. They enable you to protect sensitive information, especially regarding living people.

They're not meant for excluding descendants who disagree on the facts. All descendants have to share the same ancestor profiles. Profile Managers need to seek consensus, even when it's very difficult. See the Honor Code and the page on ownership and control.


See also: What is a Watchlist?, Trusted List FAQ, and more info on Trusted List additions and removals.

This page was last modified 12:25, 20 October 2012. This page has been accessed 58,929 times.