Why does the message "Profiles are connected. . ." when attempting to complete a merger? It blocks the merger.

+1 vote
55 views
in WikiTree Help by David Richards G2G5 (5.8k points)
David, could you give us the entire error message, and perhaps the IDs of the profiles involved?  I'm just guessing here, but perhaps the software thinks you are trying to merge two profiles of members of the same family who have the same or similar names.

1 Answer

+2 votes
It has a very short memory.  It's already forgotten that you were trying to complete the merge, so it guesses that you were trying to propose it.  So it says you can't, because it's been proposed already.

The implication is that it can't be completed, or at least, not by you.  This is usually because it hasn't been approved yet.
by RJ Horace G2G6 Pilot (561k points)
What is the solution?
Actually, your answer makes sense. The only behavior pattern that I could think of, was that the time cleaning up the profiles might have annoyed the system and it lost patience with me. I will modify to my technique. After I go into the compare mode, then I may see something that I want to fix and I go into the EDIT of the profile right there. Perhaps that triggers the timer. As a solution, I exit out of the merge event, do the fixing, and then go back into the merge function. I will post a followup message with the results. Thx!
Yes, it makes sense now that you explain what you've been doing, David.  It would have never occurred to me not to back out of the merge once I realized I wasn't ready to complete it.

Related questions

+3 votes
1 answer
86 views asked Dec 20, 2015 in Genealogy Help by Henry Chadwick G2G6 Mach 4 (48.1k points)
+2 votes
1 answer
+3 votes
0 answers
+3 votes
2 answers
+4 votes
1 answer
+6 votes
1 answer

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...