Hi E! Great question. A photo needs to be attached to a profile or a free-space page. If it isn't, it will be delete. To delete any photo, just remove anyone or anything that is attached to it and it will be deleted. This doesn't happen right away in case someone is in the process of re-attaching another profile or if they change their mind. After maintenance/cleaning (weekly?) it will be deleted.