New member introducing myself

+9 votes
48 views
Hi all, I am Nicole and I have been researching my ancestry on off for about 15 years. I am from Cape Town, South Africa and currrently living in The Netherlands.

I am searching for more information on my family names: DARKOW (born Penkun, Randow, Pomerania and arrived on Cape Town with his parents in 1860) & VAN SCHALKWYK (born in Newlands, Cape Town)
WikiTree profile: Nicole Andrews
in The Tree House by Nicole Andrews G2G Crew (410 points)
edited by Nicole Andrews

2 Answers

+4 votes
Welcome to wikitree.  Where are those families from?  If you edit your question and add some 'tags' which is a box that you can fill in with the countries or locations, that might generate interest from people with knowledge in those areas.
by Linda Peterson G2G6 Pilot (420k points)
+3 votes

Hi Nicole,

Welcome to WikiTree, I'm have South African roots too, we have a project that you could join if you're keen. Here's a link to the South Africa Project. Many of the profiles for our SA ancestors from the 1700's and before are all already here so I'm sure it won't take you long to connect your branches to other's. Happy connecting!

ago by Pam Cormac G2G6 Mach 1 (11.9k points)

Related questions

+12 votes
2 answers
84 views asked Nov 30, 2020 in The Tree House by A Davis G2G Crew (520 points)
0 votes
1 answer
+7 votes
1 answer
166 views asked Aug 7, 2016 in Genealogy Help by Lena Svensson G2G6 Mach 4 (49.5k points)
+6 votes
0 answers
0 votes
1 answer
25 views asked Mar 5, 2020 in Genealogy Help by Terry Steinhoff
+6 votes
3 answers
120 views asked Nov 9, 2017 in Genealogy Help by Barbara Towne G2G2 (2.5k points)
+5 votes
0 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...