We do not delete duplicate profiles, Carolyn. We merge them. A merge requires approvals from members of the trusted list for both profiles, so it is seldom possible for use to merge profiles by ourselves.
To initiate a merge, go to the Pending Merges area at the lower left corner of the page and click the initiate a merge hyperlink, then follow the directions that come up. Be sure to use the comment box that comes up during the process to clearly explain why the profiles should be merged. The other profile manager(s) will be notified of the merge request and will have 30 days to respond before the merge gets approved by default.