There are two different things: you have a gedcom file that is used to search for profiles (=people) on Wikitree and then you have profiles you create for people (that is what Wikitree is about).
So there is no purging, as profiles cannot be deleted (that would delete a person, we don't want that). Also, when you upload a new gedcom, you start the compare operation again, and get more hits.Please make sure you do not create duplicate profiles.
As Patrick says, you can simply delete a gedcom file by clicking it. Or wait enough time. After a set period of not looking at it, it will get deleted.