Can a merge be unmerged [closed]

+4 votes
161 views
My ancestor William Carpenter-18311 was merged with Carpenter-13469.  I lost all my sources for William Carpenter.  Also the Carpenter- 13469 did not have any connection to my ancestor Carpenter family.  None of the descendant of Carpenter-13469 matched any of the descendants of Carpenter-18311.  He was looking for a William Carpenter as the father of his ancestor and just picked my William Carpenter as the father with no sources to prove it!!

My William Carpenter-18311 is now not connected to his Carpenter ancestors because of this merge!

Please unmerge these two profiles!

June Clifford
WikiTree profile: William Carpenter
closed with the note: Solved
in Genealogy Help by June Clifford G2G3 (3.3k points)
closed by June Clifford
June, can you give us a little more information. It appears that you were the person that proposed the merge of Carpenter -018311 and -13469 after removing an umerged match designation. Merges cannot be undone. If the merge was unintended you would have to recreate the profile of the person whose information no longer appears.

Once a merge has been completed, it can't be undone. However, you can find the data that was deleted in the Changes log (except for private/unlisted profile merges).

Look for the change that reads "(Merged [merged-away profile id] into [remaining profile id]"). Click the link for the merged-away profile. Then, starting from the top of the Changes log, look for the most recent edit and click on that edit's link that reads "edited the data." The new page should have the last data from the merged-away profile. You can also access previous edits for the merged away profile from that page.

Post back if my directions don't make sense!

Hello Lindy, thanks for your answer but I don’t understand.

Where do I look for the changes log that reads (Merged {merged away profile id]

June
June,

In the Changes log of the current profile, find the entry that shows the merge being done which is a week ago.  On that line it has a link to the 'merged away' profile, click on that link which will bring you to the changes log of that 'merged away' profile.  On the last entry, select the 'edited data'. That will show you all the info that was in the 'merged away profile' on the left side and the right side will just have a 'redirect' to the new profile.  From that left side, you can copy all the information and paste it somewhere, but you will get '-' in front of the lines.  You can also select part of that info to copy and paste or you can go backwards through the previous changes log to find anything else you want to see.
I have sent you a PM with a link to the Changes Log on the 'merged away' profile so you can see what the profile had in the biography before the merge was done.

1 Answer

+2 votes
The two comments above appear to provide good answers.
by Julie Kelts G2G6 Pilot (428k points)
I couldn’t find how to do this so I entered all the missing information that was lost in the merge again,

Thank you

June Clifford

Related questions

+5 votes
2 answers
+3 votes
1 answer
+3 votes
2 answers
+5 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...