This is very confusing. If two profiles are merged, are they not effectively one? If I edit one I edit both?
I didn't try to delete her, but edit her last name at birth. This returned the redirected message. Now I look in my tree and in fact the proper birth name shows up? Also, I see the two were merged this morning, and I absolutely didn't do this merge this morning, but rather, tried to edit last name at birth.