the system is hopeless, if accidental merged can not be cancelled, you have to improve your system

0 votes
218 views
in WikiTree Tech by Anonymous Adib Samii G2G Crew (310 points)
retagged by Ellen Smith
Not hopeless at all. Because the history of a merged profile is preserved, if a mistake is made the merged profile can be restored.

3 Answers

+9 votes
 
Best answer

Unfortunately you cannot undo a merge. You will need to re-create the profile that was merged away.

See this G2g thread https://www.wikitree.com/g2g/831392/how-to-undo-a-merge

PS: You can copy (and paste) what is in the changes tab for the merged away profile when you re-create a new one on that merged away profile by mistake.  

by Dorothy Barry G2G Astronaut (2.6m points)
selected by Chase Ashley
+3 votes
In the changes tab,you can take the merge back, but follow directions there.
by David Hughey G2G Astronaut (1.6m points)
You can undo bio changes on the changes tab but you can't take the merge back.
+11 votes
The system is actually very good, having been fine tuned over a number of years. It just needs great care taken to only merge when you are absolutely sure, through very robust sourcing and double-checking every step you make, before completing the final merge. As you have found, if you make a mistake with merging it cannot be undone.
by Gillian Causier G2G6 Pilot (245k points)

Related questions

+1 vote
2 answers
146 views asked Feb 25, 2019 in WikiTree Help by Lori Cook G2G6 Mach 2 (27.6k points)
+11 votes
2 answers
0 votes
1 answer
96 views asked May 3, 2019 in Genealogy Help by Dadijo Penguinez G2G4 (4.8k points)
+20 votes
6 answers
170 views asked Apr 14, 2017 in The Tree House by Jillaine Smith G2G6 Pilot (781k points)
+3 votes
1 answer

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...