Matching and Merging profiles - if not completed in five minutes...

+2 votes
105 views
In the window "MATCHING AND MERGING PROFILES".

Once the "merge" command is done, we are taken to this window. The message states: "if it is not completed in five minutes, you can complete it".

I have seen this message several times, waited more than five minutes, have comme back to it several days later and never can I "complete it".

What am I not doing properly or not doing at all? I find this frustrating, specially realizing that in many cases, there is no action taken by the file manager.
in Genealogy Help by Gaston Tardif G2G Crew (860 points)
retagged by Lianne Lavoie

1 Answer

+1 vote
 
Best answer
Hi Gaston,

There seems to be a bug here somewhere. I know other people get this error sometimes too. Obviously, you're supposed to get it when another person is doing the same merge at the same time. It's "anti-collision" measure. But maybe they're not clearing the way they're supposed to be.

In the meantime, you could try removing the original merge by appending "&action=remove" in place of "&action=merge" -- or post here and I'll try it.

Chris
by Chris Whitten G2G Astronaut (1.2m points)
selected by Keith Baker
I've had this happen before, and removing the merge and restarting it did fix it.

Related questions

+20 votes
10 answers
519 views asked Oct 28, 2019 in The Tree House by Stu Bloom G2G6 Mach 6 (60.8k points)
+4 votes
1 answer
+4 votes
1 answer
+7 votes
3 answers
122 views asked Jul 28, 2017 in Genealogy Help by Mark Shaw G2G1 (1.4k points)
0 votes
1 answer
65 views asked Sep 30, 2019 in WikiTree Tech by Patricia Kent G2G6 Mach 1 (13.2k points)
+1 vote
0 answers
34 views asked Oct 23, 2020 in WikiTree Help by Nick Miller G2G2 (2.2k points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...