I ran into unexpected software behavior while trying to complete a merge, and I believe that the behavior I encountered needs to be changed.
After reviewing the list of pending merges waiting for approval from me, I used the "merge compare" page to look for inconsistencies needing to be ironed out. Then I clicked on the "merge them" link on that page, in "If these two profiles represent the same person merge them," with the expectation that I would be completing the merger (which had been approved by the manager of the other profile). Instead, I was surprised to see a screen indicating that the merger couldn't be done until the other profile manager approved it, and even more surprised to discover that my action had reset the clock on the merge proposal.
It is not intuitively obvious that I can't approve a merge and complete it from that "compare" page.
In this case there were 4 different profiles for one pre-1700 person (3 different pairs of profiles) needing to be merged, and I thought it was important to use the "compare" tool to help me avoid confusion about the details of the different profiles (I opened the three sets of comparisons in three different browser tabs). It should not be necessary to go back to the list of pending merges to approve a merge. It should be possible to approve a pending merge from that "compare" page -- and when I click on "merge them" for a pair of profiles that are pending a merge, my action should not reset the clock on the pending merge.
Can this software behavior be modified?