Duplicate People seperate ID's

+4 votes
156 views
Whitmarsh-169 and Whitmarsh-301 are the same person. How do I  merge the 2 together so I can merge him into what I have
WikiTree profile: Nicholas Whitmarsh
in Genealogy Help by Melissa Wood G2G Crew (400 points)
those profiles have been recognized as possible duplicates already and await approval from the profile managers, so they'll need to decide if they're duplicates
There is one troubling looking merge proposed at the bottom of the profile linked to in the above question... at first glance I'm not sure the one for Nicholas and Jane should happen.

Why do you feel that one should not be merged. I see there are 3 Nicholas Whitmarsh as being brothers

Just curious....it get very confusing to me sometimes smiley

 

Hi Melissa.  

I was just noting at the time that on the bottom of the profile page linked to in your question there were two proposed merges pending.  The one I indicated was probably wrong was changed an hour later.  You had proposed Whitmarsh-348 and 301 as a merge, but it was not correct so the other profile manager set it instead to a "rejected match" meaning they represent two different people.  It's all set now.  The other merge will likely happen soon.

All the best!
Thank you. I just hope I'm not messing things up for anyone
Not at all!  No worries... It takes everyone a little time to get used to new things :)

2 Answers

+1 vote

Hello Melissa.

Always merge to the lowest ID number

On the profiles you wish to merge go to the bottom of the page you will see 

Pending Merges Help

None.

[initiate a merge]

 

Choose intiate a merge and it will take you to a second screen put the lower number id in the bottom box  choose compare and then at the top of the page that follows choose merge them  you can also add a comment as to why you think they are a match.

Jacky

 

 

by Jacqueline Clark G2G6 Pilot (159k points)
+2 votes
When you are sure they are duplicates you should propose a merge.  Unless there is a difference of the LNAB the merge will always go into the lower numbered profile but no information will be lost, unless someone removes it during the post merge cleanup.  Also both profile managers will remain profile managers unless one of them either removes themselves or removes the other manager, but that is not normally done.
by Dale Byers G2G Astronaut (1.4m points)

Related questions

+7 votes
1 answer
0 votes
1 answer
+1 vote
2 answers
+9 votes
0 answers
+6 votes
1 answer
143 views asked Mar 7, 2018 in The Tree House by James Laabs G2G Crew (880 points)
+2 votes
1 answer
+6 votes
0 answers
63 views asked Mar 4, 2018 in Photos by Linda Stewart G2G6 Mach 1 (11.9k points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...