If I allow a merge, will the other person be able to erase data that previously entered?

+7 votes
117 views
If I allow another genealogist to merge one of their ancestors with mine, will they then be able to erase the data I had previously entered for my ancestor? If not, how much of the information can they change?
in Policy and Style by Emily Weaver G2G Crew (370 points)

3 Answers

+9 votes
 
Best answer

They SHOULD NOT erase the profile's data but if there is duplicate information, they should condense it into one biography using the data from both profiles.

Here is some information that may help :

http://www.wikitree.com/wiki/GEDCOM-created_biographies

http://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Biographies

by Maggie N. G2G6 Pilot (812k points)
selected by Gaile Connolly

I like Maggie's answer.

I would also suggest that if the two profiles represent the same person, they should be merged.  

You really don't have to (or get to) decide weather or not to allow the merge based on any other criteria.

Great question to have posted in G2G Emily :)

+3 votes
The first thing is if the profiles are duplicates then they should be merged regardless of the risk.  Second no information is lost, it can be replaced bu undoing the change.  If your information is accurate and has sources then the risk is very low that anyone would change it.
by Dale Byers G2G Astronaut (1.4m points)

Clarification: a merge cannot be undone, but you can certainly look at the Changes tab and see what's been deleted after the merge and bring it back through an undo.

+2 votes
One thing to remember about Wikitree is that we share common ancestors on a common tree.  So merging 'one of their ancestors with mine' basically means that there are two profiles for the same person, and this isn't acceptable.  None of us 'own' a profile.  We can 'control' profiles of living people, but not of older ones. Anyone can go in and change the data within a profile (unless it's a closed profile).  The good thing is that the changes are recorded, and if someone erased something you wanted, you could go back and restore the data.
by Darlene Athey-Hill G2G6 Pilot (382k points)

Related questions

0 votes
1 answer
114 views asked Oct 9, 2012 in Genealogy Help by Gary Gray G2G Crew (550 points)
+2 votes
2 answers
+2 votes
0 answers
+1 vote
3 answers
97 views asked Oct 13, 2018 in WikiTree Help by Anonymous White G2G Rookie (160 points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...