This problem is becoming quite common. I have another rejected match that was merged. This is what we see "This action cannot be completed because Bryan-2785 has been merged into another profile.
It may be that the merge you are trying to do has already been done by someone else.
If you refresh Bryan-2785 you will be redirected to the merged profile." http://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Bryan-79. This happens when someone rejects the match and then decides it should have been merged,