What use is PPP if people remove it?

+8 votes
145 views
This one needs restoring urgently, before something silly happens.
WikiTree profile: Susan Markham
in Genealogy Help by Anonymous Horace G2G6 Pilot (568k points)
retagged by Keith Hathaway
If you look at the changes page on the profile, you can see who changed the locked status.  You might email Paula directly with your concerns.
If you would check the changes plus the previous G2G question, Paula removed the PPP due to a merge and it has currently not been restored. I don't understand the matter of urgency as it does not pertain to a life or death matter. I mean, I am quite certain the person is already dead. Just saying. All you have to do is ask someone in the project that the profile is involved with to reset the PPP.
RJ, I've put the PPP back. You're quite sure the LNAB is Unknown? I can PPP them both (stalling the merge), if you want to think about it some more.

1 Answer

+3 votes
Okay, DWWA, etc.  Or to put it another way, why bother.  Next time I probably won't.

But PPP has recently been beefed up precisely because of this exact problem of immigrants whose fictitious parents are "sourced" all over the internet.

Opinions differ on whether the cure is worse than the disease.  But it certainly is if it isn't even fixing the problem.

A PPP on an Unknown parentless early immigrant is a huge LEAVE ME ALONE flag.  The chances of the true parents turning up are negligible.

There needs to be a clear policy on what it takes to remove these things.
by Anonymous Horace G2G6 Pilot (568k points)
I see PPPs on Unknowns as a strong notice that anyone who wants to change the LNAB or add parents has to make a strong case with good sources before such a change will be made. I don't see that here.
In this case I thought it was a technical misunderstanding, and the plan was to merge into the lowest number and then change the LNAB back.

There aren't even any guesses about Susan's origins, as there's nothing to start from.

Changing the LNAB is technically a merge. When we change the LNAB we are in effect creating a new profile and merging the old one into it. So ideally, when merging, you want the target to be the final product. Renaming a target after merging is complete is doing another merge/redirect-- discouraged.

Related questions

+9 votes
2 answers
+6 votes
0 answers
124 views asked Sep 15, 2016 in Policy and Style by Cynthia B G2G6 Pilot (128k points)
+6 votes
3 answers
+3 votes
2 answers
145 views asked May 23, 2020 in Policy and Style by Shirley Dalton G2G6 Pilot (486k points)
+2 votes
3 answers
0 votes
1 answer
+5 votes
2 answers
116 views asked Oct 9, 2019 in Policy and Style by Shirley Dalton G2G6 Pilot (486k points)
+4 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...