Sometimes. Many changes to connections are only logged at one end. This is done to avoid double notifications where the same person manages both profiles.
So if you're only watching one end, parents, spouses and children can be added or removed or marriage details changed with no logging at your end.
Though in that case, I don't know if tagging the surname helps.