I believe that Ashton-1287 is duplicating Ashton-803

+4 votes
77 views

I believe that Ashton-1287 is duplicating Ashton-803

I have attempted to add myself to the trusted list of Ashton-1287 but without success.

Both accounts are in my name and Ashton-803 needs to be the one that is kept.

Please remove Ashton-1287 which has only my name in it or advise me how to proceed.

 

Many thanks

WikiTree profile: Alan Ashton
in Genealogy Help by Alan Ashton G2G Crew (580 points)

1 Answer

0 votes
Hi Alan

If you are the profile manager (which it seems you are) of both profiles, you can initiate a merge of the profiles.

Within your own profile scroll all the way to the bottom of the page.  You can see 'initiate' a merge.

Click on this.

Then you are given the page option to initiate and compare merge.

When confronted with this page it asks again - are you sure you wish to merge the two profiles.

Click to merge them.
by Anonymous Bowling G2G6 Mach 5 (59.5k points)
If it helps, I can initiate it, but only you can confirm/activate my request.

Thank you.  I have tried several times dong exactly as you suggest and I get a message as follows:

Two active accounts cannot be merged. Please deactivate one account by removing its e-mail address, or contact info@wikitree.com for help.

Even though I am profile manager I cannot get access to the email address without being on the trusted list and even though I have tried to get onto the trusted list by emailing myself, this too has't worked.

I have therefore followed instructions to email wikitree who have subsequently asked me to put it onto G2G so that some kind member would help me.

Thank you for responding.  If you can initiate it so that I just have to confirm it please do so.

Many thanks.

Alan Ashton (Ashton-803)

 

Yes you are absolutely right - when I tried to initiate the merge - both are considered 'active'.  Have you tried to remove the email address from Ashton-1287?

I have requested to be put on the Trusted list of Ashton-1287 and will see what happens.  When merge is completed I'll instantly delete myself as being on the trusted list - that is if the request happens :) You never know - as I'm not linked to either of your profiles - something may happen.

Related questions

+1 vote
0 answers
+9 votes
4 answers
124 views asked Jun 6, 2019 in Appreciation by Cindy Lesure G2G6 Pilot (113k points)
0 votes
1 answer
86 views asked Apr 30, 2019 in Genealogy Help by anonymous
+2 votes
0 answers
+7 votes
1 answer
104 views asked Feb 15, 2017 in The Tree House by Eowyn Walker G2G Astronaut (1.8m points)
+6 votes
2 answers
+2 votes
1 answer
70 views asked Feb 13, 2016 in Genealogy Help by Elizabeth Townsend G2G6 Mach 2 (20.2k points)
+6 votes
2 answers
91 views asked Feb 13, 2016 in Genealogy Help by Elizabeth Townsend G2G6 Mach 2 (20.2k points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...