Merging profiles into your own can cause your profile to become public

+9 votes
147 views
I was cleaning up "dead" blank profiles that were not attached to anyone or anything. I had the great idea of just merging them into my own profile.

However, someone caught that by merging and old profile into mine, my profile became public. Many of us know exactly how difficult it is to have a PUBLIC OPEN profile for a living person, but I guess it can happen this way.
in WikiTree Tech by Lance Martin G2G6 Pilot (101k points)
retagged by Dorothy Barry

It's really good to hear someone else had that bright idea, I've done some lately too for people I can't prove ever existed. My fault for when I was new to genealogy believing everything I found online. Plowing ahead with smart-matches on my heritage which turned out be be really dumb ones, and believing everything I saw on ancestry :o We live and learn! I still have a couple of 'now floating around the tree' lines bookmarked I need to do some serious research on and see if I can find out if they are genuine lines. The trouble is though one whole line is Czechoslovakian, and I don't speak German, and I have no idea how on earth I'll ever get it sorted. If anyone out there can help (please help) the line starts here: http://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Mich%C3%A1lek-20 and use to be attached here http://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Mich%C3%A1lek-19 as noted on the second profile. I really would hate to merge them all away if they were in fact genuine souls. 

2 Answers

+3 votes
Hi Lance, though you can go to your own profile - click in edit scroll to the bottom and click on the lock and re click to ensure your profile remains private.  Long-winded but a solution to keeping it private.
by Anonymous Bowling G2G6 Mach 5 (59.5k points)
I've used the merge-into-self procedure to eliminate profiles for relatives who didn't want to be listed anymore. Generally, though, their profiles were private, so I didn't have any privacy problems after the merges.

Just remember to check the privacy level after you complete ANY merge so you don't leave open what you want private!
You can also click on the Privacy tab -- saves a click or two. :-)
+2 votes
This seems like a bug to me. The privacy setting of the target profile should be retained. I recommend you edit your post and add bug as a tag.
by Jillaine Smith G2G6 Pilot (779k points)

Related questions

+6 votes
2 answers
+3 votes
2 answers
132 views asked May 5, 2018 in WikiTree Tech by Karen Lorenz G2G6 Mach 7 (79.3k points)
+7 votes
0 answers
+1 vote
1 answer
+4 votes
2 answers
92 views asked Jun 14, 2017 in WikiTree Tech by Emma MacBeath G2G6 Pilot (780k points)
+9 votes
1 answer
134 views asked Apr 24, 2018 in The Tree House by Beulah Cramer G2G6 Pilot (294k points)
+4 votes
1 answer
143 views asked Apr 13, 2018 in WikiTree Tech by Vicky Majewski G2G6 Mach 7 (77.7k points)
+3 votes
1 answer
103 views asked Apr 5, 2018 in Policy and Style by Geoff Masters G2G6 Mach 1 (13.7k points)
+8 votes
0 answers
176 views asked Sep 24, 2017 in WikiTree Tech by Richard Devlin G2G6 Pilot (334k points)
+17 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...