Merges - if both profiles have a primary photo???

+12 votes
77 views
Stumped on how to keep both photos on the new profile when each has a primary photo.  The selection screen only has option to choose one or the other photo and the unselected photo disappears after the merge.

If I first edit the profile with the unpreferred primary photo and remove it as primary, will it stay with the profile and show on the final profile?
in WikiTree Tech by Patricia Roche G2G6 Pilot (458k points)

2 Answers

+2 votes
 
Best answer
Nothing should be lost.  People do merges all the time without worrying about the pictures.
by Anonymous Horace G2G6 Pilot (568k points)
selected by Patricia Roche
You're correct RJ - thought I had seen a photo disappear in a merge, and it alarmed me. One of those, didn't I see ??? senior moments, possibly.

Had a spare profile I'd been saving to turn into a real person, so used it for a tester. Loaded it and another profile with photos and all made the journey to the final profile.  Unsure if my being the PM of both made a difference, but next time I encounter a merge with two profile pics, will pay closer attention to what happens to them.
+3 votes

Copy the photo and save it to your computers photo album then after merge upload the photo back to the profile. Would help if you would post the two profile ID so we could look at them when asking this type question.

Adding and deleting photos on a WikiTree profile page

by David Selman G2G Astronaut (1.1m points)
That would be a problem though, not being the profile manager of either profile - wouldn't want the photo to become my property. It is a hypothetical question/problem that I retreated from and wondering how to proceed next time I encounter the situation so don't have examples to post.

Only solution I can see is to edit and remove one as primary, but looking for confirmation that the deselected photo will stay with the data in the merge, before trying it and loosing someones cherished photo.
If you remove it (and just to be safe bookmark it once removed so you don't loose it), it will still be in wikitree's system - could it not then be reconnected to the profile after the merge?

Related questions

+10 votes
4 answers
165 views asked May 14, 2015 in WikiTree Tech by Shirley Dalton G2G6 Pilot (486k points)
+1 vote
1 answer
+6 votes
1 answer
+6 votes
2 answers
232 views asked Mar 27, 2015 in WikiTree Tech by Maryann Hurt G2G6 Mach 8 (84.2k points)
+2 votes
5 answers
127 views asked May 20, 2019 in WikiTree Help by Robin Rainford G2G6 Mach 1 (13.6k points)
+3 votes
2 answers
114 views asked Jul 28, 2018 in WikiTree Tech by David Foreman G2G Crew (340 points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...