Potentially malicious attacks from findagrave.com

+24 votes
Within the last few minutes, attempts to access findagrave.com have resulted in suspicious behavior. Using Internet Explorer, my Norton security reported that the site was unsafe. Using Firefox, while attempting to search for a name, the search window closed and a fake notification popped up with a Firefox logo, stating I needed an immediate update to Firefox and urged me to download an executable file. The download site was NOT mozilla's site.

Be warned.
in WikiTree Tech by Bruce Veazie G2G6 Mach 6 (63.5k points)
edited by Bruce Veazie
I have experienced the same thing - a bogus notification to update Firefox web browser. Be careful everyone.
Me too - particularly the bogus FireFox message.
It appears fine from Google Chrome for the moment. JPVIV

1 Answer

+2 votes
Find A Grave is not well scripted either, and sometimes my Kaspersky would also alert, since I started using chrome I haven't had any problems with those virus ridden pop-ups, I don't know why but chrome works better for me with their site.
by Charlotte Smith G2G6 Mach 1 (16.4k points)

Related questions

+12 votes
2 answers
249 views asked Oct 11, 2023 in The Tree House by E Childs G2G6 Pilot (135k points)
+7 votes
2 answers
+6 votes
4 answers
182 views asked Jun 9 in Policy and Style by Tina Steele G2G6 Mach 1 (10.3k points)
+8 votes
2 answers
+25 votes
6 answers
+2 votes
1 answer

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright