So I added a person who is not in my tree at all, how do I remove him completely?

+7 votes
412 views
in Genealogy Help by Paula Wilson-Case G2G Crew (500 points)

2 Answers

+16 votes
 
Best answer
Martyn is right about not completely removing him - but I'd also advise against "recycling." Since WikiTree is shared, someone else may be using that data. Changing the profile completely pollutes any connections or links that may have been made within WikiTree or anywhere on the Internet. Probably the best idea is to disconnect him from your tree by severing the relationships that attach him. Then if you don't want him in your Watchlist, you can click on the "Privacy" tab on his profile, and choose to remove yourself as a manager. This "orphans" the profile in that nobody is managing it, but it preserves any information and sources that the person who originally entered it shared in case someone does want to add that profile to their tree later.
by Erin Breen G2G6 Pilot (222k points)
selected by Gene Brickman
Great answer, Erin.
Interesting problem logical answer. Thank you
Mmmm, good answer
+4 votes

Hi Paula,

removing profiles is something that is not generally done for more than one reason. See this Help section for more information on this subject.

What you can do, and what I usually do, is recycle the profile. Simply change the name and dates to someone new you want to add.

Hope this helps. 

by Martyn Grifhorst G2G6 Mach 2 (23.2k points)

Related questions

+1 vote
1 answer
+4 votes
1 answer
+2 votes
2 answers
+1 vote
2 answers
85 views asked May 9, 2018 in Genealogy Help by David anthony Crompton
+2 votes
1 answer
+5 votes
0 answers
40 views asked Nov 21, 2013 in Genealogy Help by Marlene Schmidt G2G Crew (940 points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...