stopping new windows opening

+1 vote
82 views
why does a new window open when searching names, you click on one and a new window opens , resulting in alot of windows open to wikitree if you're adding changes, etc.

Is there a setting to stop this?
in Genealogy Help by Steve Gilfoyle G2G2 (2.4k points)

1 Answer

+1 vote
 
Best answer
Hi Steve,

Sorry, there's no setting to stop this.

If people agree that it's annoying in a certain context, e.g. in your search example if people would rather not have new windows open, we could consider changing it.

Sophisticated users know how to open new windows when they want new windows to open. But less experienced users often don't, and they get annoyed when search results disappear while they're looking at one result at a time. At least, that's the logic.

Chris
by Chris Whitten G2G Astronaut (1.1m points)
selected by Steve Gilfoyle
sorry Chris, didn't think of that. I can put up with it so long as I remember to close the newly opened window.
When searching, I use 'right click, open new window' to begin a search, then succeeding searches 'right click, open new tab.' That way I can close a window and thus close all following tabs.
Is there a way to force a new window when someone clicks on a source URL to prevent them from navigating away from WikiTree target="_blank" for instance?
This also drives me crazy and causes me to make mistakes. For example, I create a profile for a patriarch. Then I click "add child" to add a child. A new window opens. Then on that window, I click "add sibling" and yet another window opens. Eventually there's a pile of windows and sometimes more than one for the same person. Then not sure which is saved and which isn't. Where I truly get into a pickle is when I am adding a child or a sibling and a match comes up. I click "View" to look at the match and another window pops up. I compare the two and decide it's the same person, so I click "set as sibling" but somehow a new profile is created. Now I have to contact the manager to complete a merge! Plus, it's embarrassing. I am actually trying NOT to create duplicates and end up doing so. It is because of the forty million windows popping open. I know how to backtrack through pages in my browser using the "back" button. Seems like any "new user" would know how to do the same.... I would LOVE to be able to turn this feature OFF! Thanks.

Related questions

+15 votes
3 answers
72 views asked Dec 28, 2014 in The Tree House by Sandra Farmer G2G Crew (580 points)
+11 votes
2 answers
+5 votes
1 answer
538 views asked Dec 21, 2016 in WikiTree Tech by Christine Daniels G2G6 Mach 6 (69.7k points)
+3 votes
9 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...