How do you delete a picture as I accidently uploaded two of the same photo

+11 votes
1.7k views
in WikiTree Tech by Anonymous Toland G2G1 (1.8k points)

3 Answers

+11 votes
 
Best answer

Hi Patricia,

I had to do this a few days ago.  I'll copy paste from the help menu since it explains the process better than I can.

In the help menu in help index under photo it says this:

To remove a photo from a profile, click on the photo. This will open the Photo Edit page. On the left side of the page, where it says "People, Places & Things in the Photo," select "REMOVE" next to the appropriate name(s), then click "Save Changes to Photo Info" at the bottom of the page. When you save the changes, the photo will not appear on any profiles.

This disconnects the image from any profile, but it will still exist in the database for a short period of time so that it can be recovered. This way photos can't be maliciously or mistakenly deleted.

 

by Irene Dillon G2G6 Mach 2 (23.6k points)
selected by Troy Watson
Irene, hope it's okay that I copied and pasted your answer to another more recent question. Your words seem to cover it all. Of course gave you full credit :)

https://www.wikitree.com/g2g/715690/remove-photos-uploaded-profile-https-wikitree-thomas-35801
+9 votes
Hi Patricia click on to the photo when it opens to the new page   next to the Photo Title you will see edit click this which will take you about half way down  on the left hand side of the page ,you will see a circle with REMOVE from photo check this circle press save at the bottom of the page and the photo will no longer be on your page Terry
by Terry Wright G2G6 Pilot (184k points)

This doesn't answer the question because the photo can still be accessed when you click on "[users] [number of contributiongs] contributions".

There needs to be someway to delete a photo for privacy reasons. How do we do this?

I see that no one answered your question directly - in watching the video, linked below, we hear that when you remove a photo from a profile, it remains in the database for 30 days in case you want to re- add it or add it to another profile.  After 30 days, it is deleted.
+6 votes
Here is a video of managing profile photos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWAkQLkVAQc
by Paul Bech G2G6 Mach 6 (69.4k points)

Related questions

+2 votes
1 answer
0 votes
1 answer
77 views asked Feb 10, 2019 in Genealogy Help by Jasmin Simone G2G Crew (970 points)
+1 vote
2 answers
+1 vote
1 answer
+5 votes
1 answer
+2 votes
1 answer
+1 vote
1 answer
+7 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...