Did you see that there is now a GEDCOM home page that lists your GEDCOMpare reports?

+15 votes
142 views

Hi WikiTreers,

"Where is the GEDCOM I uploaded?" has been an all-too-common question here in G2G.

Hopefully, there won't be any more. Your "My WikiTree" pull-down menu now has a "GEDCOMs" link.

Here is yours.

It's the page for uploading a new GEDCOM and for viewing GEDCOMs you have uploaded in the past. You'll see the status of your file and whether your GEDCOMpare report is ready.

Onward and upward,

Chris

asked in The Tree House by Chris Whitten G2G Astronaut (1m points)

4 Answers

+4 votes

Nice it would be useful to get a list of the profiles my GEDCOM file "has created" as those profiles I have learned need some more love and care....

answered by C S G2G6 Pilot (267k points)
+3 votes
Good initiative. Will this show a running list of all gedcoms we upload or will they disappear from the list after a certain length of time?
answered by Lynda Crackett G2G6 Pilot (491k points)
Lynda, files are now deleted 60 days after their Last Edited date, which you will see on that report page. The date changes any time you refresh the matches, confirm or reject a suggested match, create a profile, or edit a profile using your GEDCOM.
Mine doesn't show the ones that I've already deleted, only my original pre-GEDCOMpare upload and the GEDCOM I'm currently working on.
Will the upload still show on the gedcom page, but a status showing that the file has been deleted or do we lose all trace of it?
All trace is gone.
Sharon, I realise all trace will be gone for those that have previously been deleted, but I was wondering what happens to those that are now on the list when the 60 days comes up.

Hmm, this is peculiar.

My list of GEDCOMs shows all the Gedcoms I uploaded before the new GEDcompare feature was created (from 2014 until early 2017), but it does not show the first Gedcom I uploaded after the new feature was introduced (that one got auto-deleted after 30 days). It does show the second Gedcom I uploaded after the new feature was introduced -- that Gedcom is still in active use.

[FWIW, some of those old Gedcoms were used only to see the Gedcompare interface. I never used them to create profiles.]

Deleted files won't appear on the list. We don't save tracking information for them when they're removed. (Though, you could find the record of the upload in your contribution history. See the Changes tab on your own profile.)

Ellen, we didn't delete the raw files in the old system unless they weren't used at all. It's a relatively small amount of data. We are now saving quite a bit of processed data when we prepare a GEDCOMpare report and we delete it all after 60 days of inactivity.
Just to be sure I am understanding this correctly: My gedcompare report will disappear off the gedcom page 60 days after my last action on it? So I still need to keep a note of it elsewhere if I don’t want to trawl through changes or contributions to remind myself of it.

The new page would have more value if it could retain a record of completed gedcoms from this point on too.
+3 votes
This is such an improvement. I really appreciate that it also shows the last edited data!  Now I can clean off the GEDCOM links that I had added to my Navigation page and use that real estate for other things. Thank You!
answered by Joyce Rivette G2G6 Mach 1 (15.5k points)
+1 vote
I noticed yesterday after uploading a new gedcom.  I love it!  now I don't have to look in half a dozen places to find the gedcom I am working on.
answered by Emma MacBeath G2G6 Pilot (504k points)

Related questions

+10 votes
1 answer
+21 votes
5 answers
+32 votes
3 answers
+33 votes
16 answers
1.5k views asked Sep 12, 2017 in The Tree House by Chris Whitten G2G Astronaut (1m points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...