Merge - 30 Day default - Green Privacy Level

+5 votes
156 views

This may have been asked already but I couldn't find it.

I have a Green Privacy Level Merge set up - it has the default approval - can complete the merge after final review message.  However, when I go to merge it, I get an error about the privacy level.

I thought Open and Public levels could be merged after the 30 day default?

White Privacy Level - https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Shoup-305

Green Privacy Level - https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Shoup-77

Thanks!

WikiTree profile: Maude Wilson
in WikiTree Tech by Susan McNamee G2G6 Mach 5 (50.5k points)
retagged by Robin Lee

2 Answers

+3 votes
Open ones can get the default approval; Public (green lock) don't get default approved.  Only the PM or the Trusted List can approve it.
by Ros Haywood G2G Astronaut (1.2m points)
Thanks!  Did that recently change?  I know I have merged Open/Public profiles in the past.
I don't think it has changed in the last 3 years.  Perhaps the green profile was yours?
It's new. I've merged green and white. Previously , the finished profile after the merge, would be open

The merge is default approved. There are more default approved merges on that last name involving a "Public" profile. Please see here:

https://www.wikitree.com/index.php?title=Special%3ABrowseMatches&order=dateup&type=pending&canAct=1&requested=0&s=shoup

The merges can not be completed because of the privacy level of the "Public" profile. In attemting to complete the merges you get the following red banner:

"We're sorry. One of these profiles is not Open and you are not on either profile's Trusted List. Although permission for the merge has been recorded, it would violate our privacy controls to enable you to complete the merge. Please post in G2G if you would like to discuss this. Thank you for understanding."

Correct.  It has the default approval.  I can't merge it though because of the Green Privacy Level. I was asking because I have merged default approval Green Privacy level profiles before but now receive the error message that you posted.

I have at least 9 of these in this same family set up and can't complete the merges.

I was questioning if/when Green Privacy levels were made un-mergable even after the 30 day default?

Thanks!
The only person who can merge is the PM (or anyone on the truste list) of the green privacy profile. That is because of the new merge process; you need editing rights to complete the merge.

Chris W. said that there is a change for this, so that Green privacy profiles in a default-approved merge will automatically be set to Open. It probably does not work for merges that went to default before this new change was made. So the problem should disappear in time, but for merges which are currently stuck before this you need to contact the PM and then the Team if there is no response.
+3 votes
Whoa,

I am confused, I am sure I read somewhere that it had been changed and once a Green profile (public) goes 30 days, it is default approved and changed to White (open).
by Robin Lee G2G6 Pilot (712k points)
wouldn't it be great if specific policies were written down somewhere, and when changed, updated with history?
It is supposed to, but I don't think that change is live yet. https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Help:Merging#Unanswered_merge_proposals
Oh, thanks Jamie. I though it was live, but since it wouldn't work for merges that went to default before the upate (which makes sense technically), there will still be problems for a few weeks.
Thank you!!!

Related questions

+10 votes
1 answer
144 views asked Apr 17, 2018 in WikiTree Tech by Rubén Hernández G2G6 Pilot (706k points)
+2 votes
3 answers
+3 votes
1 answer
+9 votes
4 answers
+1 vote
1 answer
+5 votes
1 answer
133 views asked Jul 27, 2017 in WikiTree Tech by Tess Cameron G2G6 Mach 4 (48.4k points)
+14 votes
3 answers
+4 votes
3 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...