how can I eliminate my trustees?

+3 votes
128 views

when i go to the privacy tab of a profile which i manage 

i go down to the point where it says Add to trusted list

and below that is a box containing a vast number of names whom I have apparently trusted at some time.

I don't know what the implications are of their being in that box.

I don't want them there. I want to eject them from the box.

Please would you explain to me (1) the implications (2) how they got there and (3) how i get rid of them.

in The Tree House by Sir William Arbuthnot of Kittybrewster G2G6 Pilot (171k points)
retagged by Ellen Smith
Sir William, Just the fact that those people are in the Trusted List box under Add doesn't give them any rights at all.  These are people you have added in the past to the Trusted List of some profile for which you were the Profile Manager. They probably wanted to edit one and requested to be added to the Trusted List.  They are not on YOUR Trusted LIst. They are just people to whom you have given permission in the past to edit a profile.
Vic's is the correct answer but it needs to be an answer - not a comment.

I have a similar list of people for whom I have given trusted list status to one of my profiles at some point, but they are not giving me any trouble at all.

I checked my profile and have 2 profiles listed in that box. When I went to the profiles, I found that they are member accounts that I had adopted. Both had been merged with duplicates, and the individuals are still on the trusted lists, just not as managers.

As it turns out, they are not on my Trusted List; I am on theirs. This may be the same situation for you, William.

Copy a couple of the WikiTree IDs, go to the profiles, and check to see if you are on the trusted list for them.

3 Answers

+2 votes
  1. the implications -- they can do almost anything a profile manager can do
  2. either you added them, or they came in through a merge
  3. click the "Remove Selected People" button (after selecting some people, of course)
by Dennis Wheeler G2G6 Pilot (537k points)
Sir William

These people are NOT on your trusted list. You have given them trusted list status for one (or more) of the many profiles that you manage or managed (past tense).

If you start removing them, you MAY end up removing them from their own profiles and after 25 May they may not be able to get back in, thus making that profile an orphan. Which is what we want to avoid.
+4 votes
  1. Users on the Trusted List  have full viewing and editing rights on the profile. What users outside the Trusted List can see and do depends on the Privacy Level. Keep in mind that the Trusted List is more about Privacy, than control. See Help:Trusted List
  2. Trusted Lists are edited by the current members of the Trusted List, led by the Profile Manager. See Help:Trusted List FAQ
  3. To view or modify a profile's Trusted List, click the Privacy tab on the profile, but keep in mind that just because you are the Profile Manager, does not mean you are the owner of the profile. Profile Managers need to seek consensus, even when it's very difficult.
by Steven Harris G2G6 Pilot (500k points)
+2 votes
Go to the privacy tab for the proifle. This will show you who is on the trusted list and give you the option to edit.
by Lynda Crackett G2G6 Pilot (630k points)

Related questions

+1 vote
3 answers
+5 votes
7 answers
301 views asked Jan 27, 2019 in WikiTree Help by Susan Smith G2G6 Pilot (489k points)
+7 votes
1 answer
124 views asked Apr 10, 2018 in WikiTree Help by Robin Fehser G2G1 (1.3k points)
+4 votes
1 answer
232 views asked Jan 1, 2018 in WikiTree Help by Marie Chantigny G2G6 Mach 2 (26.4k points)
+6 votes
2 answers
+14 votes
1 answer
464 views asked Jul 3, 2016 in WikiTree Tech by Dennis Wheeler G2G6 Pilot (537k points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...