Extra Privacy Feature Needed

+3 votes
91 views
I've noticed while building out my biography, that linking to profiles in your biography overrides privacy information. Is there any way that when linking to other people, it would leave the link but privatize the name? IE when I link to my (living) mother, I'd like it to say "Living Williams" like it does on her profile when the public views it, not her actual name (which I had written). I had to go back and edit it to say that. It would be great if it was a built-in safeguard.
WikiTree profile: Janettee McCrary
asked in WikiTree Tech by Janettee McCrary G2G3 (3.6k points)

2 Answers

+4 votes
Are you the profile manager on her profile, or on the trusted list?  If so, you have to be careful to note if you are accessing the profile in public view or private view.  The tabs are on opposite ends of the menu.  In private view, you can see everything.  In public view, you see what the general public sees.  It is a good way to double-check your work to make sure it appears how you want it to.  To edit, you will be in private view.

If the privacy is still wrong, you'll have to go into the privacy tab and alter that.  Only an unlisted profile appears as "Living." others do show the name.  Of course, since your mother is living, you'll have to set her to unlisted in the privacy tab.
answered by Lucy Selvaggio-Diaz G2G6 Pilot (170k points)
I’m saying that when writing a biography, privacy does not apply. Her link will show her full name. So unless I rennet to refer to her as “Living Williams”, it will override her profile privacy. I’m saying when posting a link to a profile, the naming should be automatic based on their profile’s privacy.
+4 votes
Janettee,

The format for linking to a profile from the narrative is as follows:

[[Profile-NN | Display Name]]

(I added space before and after the "pipe" character so we can distinguish it but the spaces should not be there)

Whatever you enter after the pipe will be displayed in the final text. If you enter your mother's full name, it will be displayed. The system doesn't enter this (unless the profile was created be an old gedcom upload process.) So there is no "default".

I don't know what the new gedcompare system does in this regard.
answered by Jillaine Smith G2G6 Pilot (613k points)

Related questions

+7 votes
4 answers
+1 vote
1 answer
+4 votes
1 answer
46 views asked Jun 8, 2017 in Genealogy Help by Michael Sackett G2G6 Mach 1 (14k points)
+5 votes
2 answers
+3 votes
1 answer
+7 votes
2 answers
+4 votes
1 answer
+15 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...