How do I recommend combination of three different cemetery names into one?

+4 votes
70 views

San Antonio Cemetery category (Bexar County, Texas) has the following:

1 Category: San Fernando Cemetery 3, San Antonio, Texas

2.Category: San Fernando Cemetery No. 3, San Antonio, Texas and 

3. Category: Roselawn Memorial Park, Bexar, Texas

Roselawn is shown as a subset of No. 3, but it only has one entry, which I plan to move to No. 3.

And the first one above is empty.  Do duplicate categories get combined, deleted, or just ignored?

in Policy and Style by Joseph Cook G2G2 (2.2k points)
Good eye!

2 Answers

+6 votes
They get merged, using {{Merge Category|Name of Category you are merging into}}
In this case you would place {{Merge Category|San Fernando Cemetery No. 3, San Antonio, Texas}} into each other the other two category boxes and save.
Leave a short explanation on the next line.

If you have difficulty, come back and say so and we'll help.

Full explanation here: https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Help:Categorization#Deleting.2C_renaming.2C_or_merging_categories
:-)
by Natalie Trott G2G6 Pilot (700k points)
edited by Natalie Trott
+5 votes

If you have moved all that need to be moved to the proper cemetery category.  Go to the other 2 and remove everything on the page in edit mode and put this there  {{Delete Category}}   When saved a big red box should appear Warning: This is category will be deleted and should not be used.   Their grammar, not mine.  LOL   The category will be deleted by the system at a later time during system maintenance.

by LJ Russell G2G6 Pilot (166k points)
If you use Merge Category, the old ones will be deleted when EditBot runs.

I was typing while Natalie answered your post.  Since both of the errant Categories were void of Profile links, I checked, the way I gave would work in this case.  Natalie, can make sure I am correct, but the merge process would be the one to use if you have a lot of Profiles listed to a Category and they needed moved to a correct Category or the Profiles in the old category have Privacy Levels set where you can't update them  As you said there was only one Profile in one of them and you had fixed that one.

All in all, both methods are great to put on your WikiTree Cheat Sheet. ;)

Caught me while I was typing again Natalie.  LOL

There are 3 templates: Delete Category, Rename Category and Merge Category. See Help: Categorization - Deleting, renaming, or merging categories (Note: this help page will be updated sometime in the next day or two so I'm not sure the link will continue to work.)

I think the only difference between the rename template and the merge template is that the merge template moves the descriptive text of the category that is being done away with to the category that is being kept.  

Both move the profiles on the one being done away with to the one being kept. Both also delete the one being done away with after the profiles are moved.

With merge, you need to go into the one being kept and check to see if any editing is needed, such as for incorrect or duplicate information, in the description just like you do with biographies on a profile merge.

This is the way AleŇ° has described the difference between rename and merge to the Categorization Project maintenance team.

The Delete Category template should only be used when there are no profiles to be moved. Editbot won't process it if it has profiles. When it does process, the  category goes away and so does whatever descriptive text was on the category page.

Related questions

+3 votes
2 answers
+6 votes
1 answer
+3 votes
1 answer
66 views asked Jan 5, 2019 in Policy and Style by Vicki Norman G2G6 Mach 2 (20.8k points)
+5 votes
2 answers
+13 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...