This is a follow-up to my question posed on 12-Dec-18 titled “Problem with privacy setting for deceased people” (https://www.wikitree.com/g2g/731407/problem-with-privacy-setting-for-deceased-people).
I’m asking this question because I have tried with great effort to not create duplicate profiles, yet often do. The problem becomes obvious during a GEDCOM import. During import, the program flags suggested matches. I know I reviewed every profile when importing the GEDCOM. I review it again when adding my approved GEDCOM to WikiTree. At the execution point of adding my profile, I again have a suggested duplicate list to review, and at that point, do I add it; or again; stop execution! The problem is not my review, but the lack of being able to review fields that are critical to my execution. Fields are hidden from my view by a profile manually upgraded to PRIVATE.
A profile setting of “PRIVATE” prevents me from viewing the suggested matches, specifically, key data fields like Dates, or Locations, or a Tree. We all agree these are needed to confirm or reject a match. Unsure, I reject the match, so the program creates rejected matches, that later should be reviewed. This again leads to the same result, No-Go (hidden fields) keeping me from executing. The Rule holds true for every possible user suggested duplicate merge. Without seeing critical fields, should I attempt to notify a profile manager (of every possible duplication) without my seeing any real details (from hidden fields)? We are all too busy in our daily lives to send, or review every vague request. WikiTree should help us make good decisions. Help us remove barriers of hiding things from view when they are critical to our decision making and therefore efficient execution. To this end I propose a New Rule.
What is being discussed here is to have a “Utility Bot” run and catch PRIVATE profiles who do not meet the rule (below), and reduce from the highest level “Red”, (PRIVATE) to a lower privacy level “Yellow”(Private with public tree). This “yellow” setting, allows for living members to remain hidden and no Bio information will be displayed. Any attempt by a user to select a profile as PRIVATE “RED”, will immediately see a warning message (or a pop-up) stating that rules apply for this setting and warned not to provide any personal information they do not want others to see . A profile set to private, may under certain circumstances be changed automatically due to utility maintenance. Upon execution, any changed profiles (by the utility program) will execute an email that will be sent to the profile manager to advise them of immediate action required to review the profile for privacy concerns. This change was executed as part of the rules of WikiTree, and per your acceptance of putting your information on this known, publically shared, collaborative website called WikiTree.
The proposed New Rule
1) The”Death Date”/ living box is selected (and / or)
2) The birth date is more than 100 years from current date. (4 generations)!
How would this effect what we currently see?
By enabling this rule, all fields will be viewable so matching and merging can once again take place on the fly. No living peoples Bio’s could be seen as set by this “Yellow” privacy level, nor would other family members be seen if set to yellow. This would include DNA that may be hidden because the person is no longer a member, or was never a member of WikiTree. If this is sensitive information that is no longer to be shared, it should be removed per the warning statement of privacy rules.
Please vote this up or down so this rule can be reviewed by staff and implemented.
I will answer both and vote up or down to show your approval. Regardless, a vote ofyes or no will show the importance of this proposed rule change, and whether or not we the users fell it should be implemented. Thank you for any consideration, and please add comments if you feel I missed any important issues.