Should you delete a public comment requesting a merge that has been completed?

+10 votes
153 views
A profile has a public comment that it and another profile with a surname variation should be merged.  I did not see it in pending merges so I checked both WikiTree IDs and discovered the merge has been completed.  I was about to delete that comment but then WikiTree warned me  "Please do not delete unless it's spam, vandalism, or reveals private information"  I'm not understanding the benefit of keeping that comment.
in Policy and Style by Peter Roberts G2G6 Pilot (562k points)
edited by Peter Roberts
I may have figured out a solution that I'm okay with.  Instead of deleting the comment, I added an additional comment stating the date and identifying which WikiTree ID was merged into the other.
You can also simply scroll to the bottom of the page. If you don't see a pending merge listed there, then it has been completed.
Yeah, I usually do.

4 Answers

+12 votes
 
Best answer
I always delete my merge comments after the merge is completed. Leaving them around just confuses people and wastes their time. If anybody wants to see whether a profile has been merged in the past, they can always click on the Changes tab.
by Greg Slade G2G6 Pilot (444k points)
selected by Eric Weddington
I agree. Best to delete them. They provide no useful information.
+3 votes
Something I have noticed... as other public comments appear on your page, the older ones slide away.  So why bother deleting messages?  They will soon disappear, anyway.
by Ros Haywood G2G Astronaut (1.2m points)
This is a profile that is unlikely to get many comments, so I suspect the comment would stay many years.  I wanted to delete it so that I would not waste my time in the future checking on the merge.

thanks
+3 votes

Interesting question. I can go either way (keep or delete) on this one, i.e. do not have strong feelings. Due to the message that appears upon moving to delete, I have stopped and not deleted.

Tangent thought: Reading this did cause me to recall a 'leader' wanted to tell me something a while back, so from what I can tell, they posted a message on my profile and then immediately deleted it. I gather their reason for this was to avoid my seeing their email address ... and also not leave the note around for others to see. So, there are some at least who don't hesitate for a second to delete messages on profiles/bulletin boards despite the "Please do not delete unless it's spam, vandalism, or reveals private information" warning.

by Susan Keil G2G6 Mach 5 (58.8k points)
+1 vote
We should always feel free to delete any of our own public comments.

As for comments made by our fellow WikiTreers, we should communicate with them first, at least if they are not currently part of our regular collaboration circle.

Also, we should defer to the profile's manager(s), if any, if we aren't one of them.

My 2 Bennies!!
by Lindy Jones G2G6 Pilot (218k points)

Related questions

+9 votes
2 answers
+5 votes
1 answer
+6 votes
1 answer
+3 votes
4 answers
+26 votes
2 answers
+6 votes
1 answer
80 views asked 17 hours ago in WikiTree Help by Dave Sellers G2G1 (1.6k points)

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...