If I propose a merger of two profiles, will the information on mine be lost on one with little information?

+6 votes
71 views
asked in WikiTree Help by Bill Windsor G2G Crew (530 points)
retagged by Michael Stills

4 Answers

+2 votes
no, it will be merged together
answered by Dennis Wheeler G2G6 Pilot (389k points)
+5 votes
No.  When you complete the merge, you select the facts (data fields) that go in the final profile, and you can edit the bio to maintain the text and sources you want.  By default, the two bios both go to the finished product, and you can sort them out on the Edit page later.
answered by Herbert Tardy G2G6 Pilot (320k points)
+5 votes
When a merge is completed, you are supposed to merge all the information including whatever is in the biography. You have the opportunity to choose the information of either or both profile biographies. The merge process combines both biographies by default.
answered by Lucy Selvaggio-Diaz G2G6 Pilot (270k points)
+1 vote
As everyone already said, everything should be included from both, with a cleanup so there is no duplication.  Both PMs will share the PM duties for the merged profile.
answered by Linda Peterson G2G6 Mach 1 (11.4k points)

Related questions

+2 votes
1 answer
30 views asked Dec 4, 2016 in The Tree House by Steve Stobaugh G2G6 Mach 1 (17.7k points)
+3 votes
2 answers
+8 votes
1 answer
150 views asked Nov 21, 2015 in Genealogy Help by Henry Chadwick G2G6 Mach 4 (45.5k points)
+9 votes
1 answer
+6 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...