I just noticed on the profile previews that there are two new buttons, turn off temporarily and turn off permanently. This is great news. For those of us who love them, we get to keep them and turn them off from time to time when they are in the way - like when you're doing a side-by-side comparison for a merge.
And for those who dislike them, you can shut them off.
Best of both worlds, you don't always get it, but when you do, smile!