What info is retained in a merge?

+3 votes
61 views
If I propose a merge to a pre-existing person, but my person lists more siblings, or parents when the pre-existing person has none (etc.) will the connections to the siblings and/or parents be retained or lost?
in Genealogy Help by Toby Rockwell G2G6 Mach 2 (24.9k points)

1 Answer

+2 votes
 
Best answer
Hi Toby. When you're completing a merge, you'll be brought to a page that lets you choose which to choose for things like name fields, birth and death dates and places, etc. This includes parents, because a profile can only have one set of parents attached. (This is not an issue for spouses and children, because there's no limit to multiples of those.)

If only one profile has parents attached, the default will be to keep them. If both have parents attached, you'll have to choose between them, or, if they're the same, merge or match them.

Siblings are defined as profiles that have the same parents, so siblings will remain attached as long as the parents are.

I hope that clears things up!

~Lianne
by Lianne Lavoie G2G6 Pilot (419k points)
selected by Toby Rockwell
If  you merge  parents that have multiple children, you will find that the multiple children are repeated, not merged, so they must be merged, too. And their childlren, etc.
That's true. I just meant that it's only parents that you have to worry about while you're the doing the merge. Children and spouses can always be merged later (though of course ideally you'd do the whole line!).

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...