What does "Failed token check. Forcing Preview" mean?

+1 vote
165 views
I got this message about four times before my free space page was saved.

http://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Space:1840_Union_County%2C_Arkansas_Census%2C_Franklin_Twp._Excerpts
in Genealogy Help by Debby Black G2G6 Mach 8 (80.7k points)
retagged by Chris Whitten
Chris

I was in edit mode to add burials to the open space page. I saved once with no troubled but other saves gave me this notice. Not knowing what it was I went n adding to the list, only to find that my hours and hours of work was worth nothing. There are about 400 burials to enter.

The message is bad ideas for open space pages.

2 Answers

+2 votes
 
Best answer
This should be an usual error. If people get this, they should post here and we'll investigate.

Is it possible you had the edit window open for an extended period of time, before you tried to make the change? This "token check" helps protect against hackers who might be impersonating members.
by Chris Whitten G2G Astronaut (1.1m points)
selected by Keith Baker
The edit window was open for quite a long time. I was doing research, then would put a link in the edit window when I found applicable data, then I'd go back to researching again without saving.

So you're saying it's a good idea to save and stay out of edit while researching for the page?
Hi Debby,

It shouldn't be necessary too often, but saving after every change is a good idea, and you'd want to avoid having any editing window open indefinitely. (There's also the risk that someone else would try to edit the profile while you have the edit window open.)

Chris
Oh, if I could only be so lucky as to have someone else editing the page. Very low risk, I'm afraid.  :o)

A follow-up question: could I have gotten that message because I put the two surnames in with a comma separating them rather than tagging them individually?
:-)  The surnames thing wouldn't generate an error.
This error seems to be working against open pages.

Jon P Czarowitz
0 votes
Its nasty if you do not see the message. The work you did will be lost if you do not save again. Usually best to save again and then you can look at the profile to find the mistake. Usually I see no problem some times its obvious missing a closing bracket or some such. Key is to save again especially if you have done a lot of typing or it will disappear.
by M Lechner G2G6 Mach 6 (61.4k points)
G2G and Tech need to come up with a solution to prevent this when listing names in cemeteries or those projects are worth NOTHING.

I don't want to spend hours working on this only to find I am back where I was the day before.

Jon P Czarowitz

Related questions

+3 votes
1 answer
124 views asked Oct 19, 2016 in WikiTree Tech by W E G2G6 Mach 1 (10.3k points)
+7 votes
1 answer
+1 vote
2 answers
141 views asked May 5, 2019 in WikiTree Tech by Kristina Adams G2G6 Pilot (174k points)
+1 vote
1 answer
92 views asked May 19, 2018 in WikiTree Tech by Jim Berry G2G4 (5k points)
+7 votes
2 answers
192 views asked Feb 1, 2018 in WikiTree Tech by Robin Lee G2G6 Pilot (592k points)
+12 votes
0 answers
72 views asked Dec 26, 2015 in WikiTree Tech by Anne B G2G Astronaut (1.1m points)
+13 votes
1 answer
87 views asked Feb 11, 2015 in WikiTree Tech by Andrea Powell G2G6 Mach 4 (41.4k points)
0 votes
1 answer
+6 votes
2 answers

WikiTree  ~  About  ~  Help Help  ~  Search Person Search  ~  Surname:

disclaimer - terms - copyright

...