Presumably it's greyed out until you edit something.
The Adding and Editing is the actual importing. If you don't edit, nothing is imported. Your gedcom doesn't get coupled to the tree. Nothing in it is visible to anybody else except what is transferred over by Adding and Editing.
So if you don't want to change the existing profile, fine, but then there isn't anything you need to do.