Category: EditBOT

Categories: Maintenance Categories

Here are things related to EditBot.

Contents

EditBot Log Files

View EditBot Log Files.

Navigate EditBot Category.

Renaming and Deleting Categories

There are 3 templates for deleting and renaming categories.

Delete a category

{{Delete Category}}

If you want to delete the category you can add {{Delete Category}} on the category page. If the category is empty and no other page links to the category, it will be automatically deleted. Otherwise it will be reviewed by Categorization project. If category is not empty, use Rename Category.

Template details: Template:Delete_Category.

Template has also one optional parameter. This parameter is not to be used by unauthorized users.

Additional notes:

  • For empty categories there is a difference between both templates. If you use rename category, translation will be remembered and will also move the categories in the future.
  • All categories are checked on each run of the bot and if it is in the wrong category (No links to the category), it is processed as if it had no parameter.

Rename a category

{{Rename Category|NewCategoryName}}

Rename category and delete it. New category must exist.

If you want to rename the category you can add {{Rename Category|NewCategoryName}} on it. If it has less than 10 members or links to it, then EditBot will move the pages to new category and delete the old. Otherwise it will be reviewed by Categorisation project. If category is empty, use Delete Category.

Template details: Template:Rename_Category.

Template has also one parameter for new name of the category and a second optional parameter that is not to be used by unauthorized users.

Additional notes:

  • For empty categories there is a difference between both templates. If you use rename category, translation will be remembered and will also correct category usage in the future.
  • All categories are checked on each run of the bot and if it is in the wrong category (Number of links under 10), it is processed as if it had no parameter.

Merge a category

{{Merge Category|FinalCategoryName}}

Merge category and delete it. New category must exist.

If you want to merge two categories you can add {{Merge Category|FinalCategoryName}} on it. If it has less than 10 members and links to it, then EditBot will move the pages to final category and delete the old. Otherwise it will be reviewed by Categorisation project. If category is empty, you can use also Delete Category instead.

Template details: Template:Merge_Category.

Template has also one parameter for new name of the category and a second optional parameter that is not to be used by unauthorized users.

Additional notes:

  • For empty categories there is a difference between both templates. If you use merge category, translation will be remembered and will also correct category usage in the future.
  • All categories are checked on each run of the bot and if it is in the wrong category (Number of links under 10), it is processed as if it had no parameter.





This page was last modified 00:54, 19 January 2018. This page has been accessed 1,044 times.