Help:Advance Directive

Search WikiTree's help pages:

Categories: WikiTree Help


If a member is unreachable for an extended period of time, or we discover that they have passed away, we need to delete the private profiles that they were managing unless there are other family members on the Trusted Lists of those profiles. See Death of a Member.

To prepare for this, it's best that you make sure every private profile you're managing has others on the Trusted List.

You may also want to put a message like this at the bottom of your profile: "To aid WikiTree in the administration of my account should I be incapacitated, or in the event of my death, I hereby give permission for all private profiles I'm managing to be transferred to the following WikiTreers, whether or not they are currently on the Trusted Lists: ...".

Here is an example from the profile of Lianne Lavoie in her own words:

Digital Afterlife
It may seem morbid, but in the event of my untimely demise I want to be sure that none of my hard work on WikiTree ends up being deleted. While I fully intend on being around to manage all my profiles for the next 80 years or so, in the event of my sudden death I hereby give permission for all of my private profiles to be transferred to any of the following slightly-active WikiTreers in my family, whether or not they are currently on the trusted lists:
Jonathon Laudinsky
Janice Lavoie
Joyce Jackson
Stephanie Janz
I am also the sole profile manager of a large number of profiles in the royal family. The living ones are private only because WikiTree requires it; they contain only information easily available on the web. They can be passed off to any interested WikiTreer.



This page was last modified 14:07, 23 May 2017. This page has been accessed 489 times.