upload image

Will of George Batman of Bitton, Gloucestershire, proved 1819

Privacy Level: Open (White)
Date: [unknown] [unknown]
Location: Bitton, Gloucestershire, England, United Kingdommap
Surname/tag: Batman
Profile manager: I. Speed private message [send private message]
This page has been accessed 16 times.

This is a transcript of the will of George Batman, yeoman, of Bitton, Gloucestershire. His will was dated 10 June 1818 and probate was granted on 22 March 1819.


This is the last Will and Testament of me George Batman of Upton in the Parish of Bitton in the County of Gloucestershire, Yeoman, made this the Tenth Day of June in the Year of our Lord One Thousand Eight Hundred and Eighteen being though weak in Body, of sound and disposing Mind Memory and Understanding, Thanks be to Almighty God for the same.

First I commend my Soul to God, and commit my Body to the Earth to be decently buried at the Discretion of my Executors herein named ; and as for my Worldly Estate wherewith it has pleased Almighty God to bless me, I give and dispose thereof as follows (that is to say) It is my Will and desire and I hereby give and bequeath to my beloved Wife Sarah Batman and her Assigns, during the Term of her natural Life (provided she shall so long continue my Widow and be unmarried, but not otherwise) my two Houses or Tenements with a Barn and Garden and Appurtenances thereunto belonging, and Also Eight Plots or Pieces of Land, all situate in this Parish ; and after [he]r Decease, or the Determination of her Widowhood as aforesaid, I give devise and bequeath to my Son George Batman one of the said Houses or Tenements with the Garden and Barton, and also two of the said Plots or Pieces of Land called Butterwells ; and to my Son William Batman I give devise and bequeath the other House or Tenement with the Barn, and also three Plots or Pieces of Land called the upper Tithings.

To my Daughter Louisa Batman I give devise and bequeath a Plot or Piece of Land called Bartons, and to my Daughter Eliza Batman I give devise and bequeath a Plot or Piece of Land called Keene Moor in the said Parish, and another Piece called Half Acre.

I also give and bequeath to my said Wife Sarah Batman and her Assigns, all my Stock, Goods, Chattels and Household Furniture of every kind, to be at her and their Disposal and for her use and benefit.

And it is my Will and desire that in case either of my aforesaid Children should die before being in possession of their Property such Property shall become the Survivors, Share and Share alike.

And all the Rest, Residue and Remainder of my Estate whatsoever and wheresoever I give and bequeath the same and every part thereof unto my said Wife Sarah Batman.

And I do hereby nominate, constitute and appoint my said Wife Sarah Batman and John Lee, Carpenter, of Bath, joint Executrix and Executor of this my last Will and Testament. In Witness whereof I have hereunto set my Hand and Seal the Date above written.

George Batman

Signed sealed published and declared by the Testator George Batman, as and for his last Will and Testament, in the presence of us who have hereunto subscribed our Names as Witnesses thereto in his presence and in the presence of each other

John Read
William Lee
Eliza. Shurland

22nd. March 1819
The above named John Lee the Executor (power being reserved for the Executrix when [it] was duly Sworn before me
Chas. Palmer Sur.

Under £50


  • "Gloucestershire, England, Wills and Inventories, 1541-1858". Ancestry.com. George Batman; Probate: 22 Mar 1819; Will Number: 48; Place: Bitton; Hamlet: Upton Cheyney; Court: Consistory Court of Gloucester; Reference Code: 59913.Ancestry Sharing Link Ancestry Record 4294 #67934

  • Login to edit this profile and add images.
  • Private Messages: Send a private message to the Profile Manager. (Best when privacy is an issue.)
  • Public Comments: Login to post. (Best for messages specifically directed to those editing this profile. Limit 20 per day.)

Leave a message for others who see this profile.
There are no comments yet.
Login to post a comment.