Al,
As I'm sure you know, when a merge is requested and the PM on one side of the merge is unresponsive (in this case the PM in question hasn't been around since 2014), it will normally take 30 days to complete it. This gives us a month to correct the privacy status on his profile. That profile has "never had b. or d. dates" and because of this, the system "gave it" the green tag by default. The green privacy tag does not automatically mean the person is less than 200 years old. In this case, it means the system assumed the person was possibly alive, since no dates were entered. My guess is that Colin never even saw this, the profile was brought in by GedCom and no changes were ever made to it.
What happens when you reject a merge, is that the 30 day clock has to be restarted. Was any research done, or did you just see the green status tag and rejected it because of that? If I'm wrong here, I apologize, because I'm honestly not trying to be rude, just stating the facts as I see them.